The Chinese Medicine Board of Australia (the National Board) has established the Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee (the Accreditation Committee) to exercise a number of accreditation functions under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law as in force in each state and territory (the National Law).

The role of the Accreditation Committee is to develop and recommend accreditation standards to the Board for approval. It then assesses whether programs of study and education providers are meeting the accreditation standards and decides whether or not to accredit the provider and program. The National Board considers the Accreditation Committee’s decision and their report and decides whether or not to approve an accredited program as a qualification for registration as a Chinese medicine practitioner.

Accreditation standards help to ensure that education providers give students the knowledge, skills and professional attributes to competently practise in the profession.

Accreditation Standards

The National Board has approved the Chinese medicine accreditation standards under section 47 of the National Law. 

As required by section 46 of the National Law, the Accreditation Committee undertook wide ranging stakeholder consultation about the content of the Accreditation Standards before they were recommended to the National Board for approval.

Approved Programs of Study

Qualifications for general registration

The list below contains the details of programs of study approved by the National Board:

Programs of Study

Qualifications for general registration, considered adequate programs of study, under the grandparenting provisions of the National Law

More information

  • Application information for education providers is being finalised. If you need a copy, please email the Accreditation Unit.

    Planned Maintenance: Account services for health practitioners and employers as well as our online graduate application service will be unavailable between 7:30pm and 11:59pm on 23/07/2014 (Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)). There will be brief outages to the website during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience.